SP Park Smiling

Street Pastors Needed!

Street Pastors urgently need some more volunteers. Could you give 5 hours a month to help people in your local community stay safe?

Street Pastors is a nation-wide organisation that runs local patrols in city centres and community areas across the country. They aim to demonstrate the love of Jesus in a practical way by offering a reassuring presence to help people stay safe when they're out and about. You can find out more about the organisation on our Southampton Street Pastors project page.

More volunteers are urgently needed for community patrols in Eastleigh and Southampton (including Coxford/Millbrook and the city centre), and for school patrols and night-time patrols. Street Pastors are looking for people to volunteer to go out on the street, and also for people who will stay and pray while patrols are happening. Could you help with either of these roles? Could you volunteer 5 hours a month or more?

If you are interested in getting involved, the next training course for new volunteers is coming up soon, so now's a great time to apply. Applicants must be over 18 years of age, a Christian, and must have been committed to a local church fellowship for more than a year. Successful applicants will need a personal reference from their church leader, and will need to be checked by the Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS), as well as completing the training programme. 

The next programme of training will take place over the following dates:

- Friday 8th April (7-9.30pm), Saturday 9th April (09.30am-4.30pm), Sunday 10th April (09.30am-4.30pm)
- Friday 22nd April (7-9.30pm), Saturday 23rd April (09.30am-4.30pm), Sunday 24th April (09.30am-4.30pm)
- Sunday 1st May (09.30am-4.30pm)
- Friday 6th May (7-9.30pm), Saturday 7th May (09.30am-4.30pm),  Sunday 8th May (09.30am-4.30pm)
- Friday 15th May (7-9.30pm)

If you're interested in becoming a Street Pastor: Please use the contact details below to request an application form or find out more.

Eastleigh Street Pastors
Contact name: Steve Smallwood
Telephone number: 07984860590
Web contact form: www.streetpastors.org/locations/eastleigh

Southampton Street Pastors
Contact name: Mandy Harding
Telephone number: 02380333387
Web contact form: www.streetpastors.org/locations/southampton

Applications need to be submitted by the end of Monday 28th March 2016.